Survivorship

Back of Destroyed Childhood Home

Last week I spent a few hours writing on survivorship, and to no avail it never made it onto the blog for which I apologize for.

Surviving an Ef5 Tornado is something I can exactly was not on my bucket list to do or to be in. Yet when you live in tornado ally it is something that needs to be spoken of.

A Devastating tornado ripped through my hometown of Joplin Missouri. I was north of town spending time with my boyfriend (now husband) Mark, and his daughter Bug. The storm was originally going toward where I was at, and then suddenly changed instantly. It changed where is was going from the west side of Joplin to the East side of Joplin. It had three vortexes in the storm, and this includes an eye, which is very rare.

My mom, my 14-year-old sister (she is now 16), and our boxer were in the pantry. This pantry was the only place mom and dad told us to go if sirens were going off. I remember them saying “Caleb and Sarah if there is a tornado the pantry was the safest place to be.” Still to this day I can still hear it in my head, and my heart.

Vic·tim  audio  (vktm) KEY NOUN: One who is harmed or killed by another: a victim of a mugging. A living creature slain and offered as a sacrifice during a religious rite. One who is harmed by or made to suffer from an act, circumstance, agency, or condition: victims of war.  A person who suffers injury, loss, or death as a result of a voluntary undertaking: You are a victim of your own scheming. A person who is tricked, swindled, or taken advantage of: the victim of a cruel hoax.

Sur·vive  audio  (sr-vvKEY VERB:

sur·vivedsur·viv·ingsur·vives
VERB: intr. To remain alive or in existence. To carry on despite hardships or trauma; persevere: families that were surviving in tents after the flood. To remain functional or usable: I dropped the radio, but it survived.

VERB: tr. To live longer than; outlive: She survived her husband by five years. To live, persist, or remain usable through: plants that can survive frosts; a clock that survived a fall. To cope with (a trauma or setback); persevere after: survived child abuse.

OTHER FORMS: sur·vivor(Noun)

Sur·vi·vor·ship  audio  (sr-vvr-shpKEY : NOUN: The condition of being a survivor.

As we can see here the definitions of Survivor and Victim is totally different. A survivor is one who endures a disaster, not a victim. Victim is the beginning, but they turn into survivors for enduring through the difficult circumstances. Enduring the disaster is something in itself. It is the road to recovery. It is the road to the new life.

Read Rest of Survivorship Here.

Again let me apologize about the inconvenience.

Enjoy!

Linking to:

Thankful Thursday

Thoughtful Thursday Blog Hop

Momma Notes -- Splashin' GloryDear Weary Mom

 Thursdays

The Shabby Creek Cottage

4 responses to “Survivorship

  1. Pingback: Struggles | thehopejourneythroughChrist·

  2. Pingback: Grace Alone… » Blog Archive Thankful Thursday ~ Different Perspective·

  3. Pingback: Survivors not victims | thehopejourneythroughChrist·

Leave a comment