Pulling Back the Shades…..

image

Sitting here thinking and writing how God wants me to take this post. Yes, this is a difficult post to write let alone the topic.

The genre of erotica, and the topic. Ugh. This is one section of the store (it was a secular bookstore) I honestly did not like let alone go to. Plus a few other sections. Fifty Shades of Grey by EL James was released in bookstores roughly three or three and a half years ago. It took off like thundering horses. It seemed like every transaction everyone was buying the book. It was just as bad as those buying the naughty magazines. It was a book that someone asked me this, “Are you going to read this?” My response was “No, I do not read this genre nor do I feel comfortable with reading it. I want what is best for my marriage.” I got an odd look but none the less I quenched the questions for the moment. It kept coming through the line everyday. Everyday it was almost on every recipt I sold, and few other topics included through out the day. Lives were “being changed” they said but Satan was just masquerading as a good book(2 Corinthians 11:14). Everyday for several months I saw women buying this this from young to old, saved to unsaved, and everything in between.

Seeing all this made me really understand, that my marriage was so very important. It was something I wanted to keep very pure. It made me understand that I needed to be very careful about what I read. I understod finally how important it was to keep m marriage pure and I did not want to wreck it by a book that could quite well destroy it. Many times I came home to my husband and told him “I never want to see the book again” or “I want the book to be gone”. I truly never wanted to see the book again. Thankfully God’s plan was better for me.

Pulling Back The Shades by Dannah Gresh and Dr. Juli Slattery have written an answer to Fifty Shades Of Grey with such Biblical Wisdom. Both authors give truth and honesty about what erotica does to the women. It is a light and helps women fully understand the series and the genre erotica. Each chapter is eye opening about the dangers of getting involved with the genre. Fifty Shades of Grey is changing this course. Satan is blurring the lines for Christian women and their faith (2 Corinthians 2:14). Each author go on to tell that women want to be protected, longing to be loved, and a few more things. Some women who have these longings have replaced the love of husbands with erotica.

Most People who read these books seemed to be so mesmorized by this sexuality that they appear to walk right past what I perceive as an even greater danger and offense: spiritual darkness. Page 46

Erotica is a danger a big one for sure. It has such an impact on our lives, spiritual, love life, marriage, relationships and of course families. Dannah Gresh and Dr. Juli Slattery also discuss how the Bible is black and white concerning sexual sins and how it completely seperates us from our Heavenly Father. So do we want to run close to the Father or distance ourselves from God and His Word?

As the book continues it reaches out to women that sex was created by God for pleasure, but with erotica the pleasure is distorted. It reaches out to help women to break free from the chains of erotica in order to have a pure marriage bed and to be fully free to the extent that they are able to praise and worship God. Free from the chains of erotica. Free truly Free in Christ.

This topic is hard, but God makes it clear in His Word and his expectations. He knows we sin, but if we keep our eyes on Him and his plan will glorify Him in everything, He will bless us.

So what is God calling you to do?

Do you need to get right with God concerning Fifty Shades of Grey and erotica? Do you need to pray for those who are so wrapped up in the genre and need to be set free?

****Pulling Back the Shades by Dannah Gresh and Dr. Juli Slattery was provided to me by Family Christian Blogger. This was in return for my story with the book Fifty Shades of Grey and a review of Pulling Back the Shades.*****

Leave a Reply

