2014 Word for the Year

Word for 2014

It is a brand new year, and there are so many bloggers I follow who have chosen a word for the 2014 year. I saw this a few years ago but fully never knew what it mean until this year.

You see, it has been difficult for us since I lost my job unfairly in 2012, almost a year into our marriage, but on the other hand it has made us depend upon God a whole lot more than ever. There have been somethings taken away from us, by the liar. Yet God reminded me that there will be those years and he will replenish what the locusts have eaten from us. During BSF this year I remember with how tight things were going to be for Christmas for my family, God brought me to this scripture.

Joel 2.25-27 (NIV)

“I will repay you for the years the locusts have eaten —
the great locust and the young locust,
the other locusts and the locust swarm —
my great army that I sent among you.
26 You will have plenty to eat, until you are full,
and you will praise the name of the Lord your God,
who has worked wonders for you;
never again will my people be shamed.
27 Then you will know that I am in Israel,
that I am the Lord your God,
and that there is no other;
never again will my people be shamed.

He reminded me that despite everything that was going on with finances being tight, that He is the one to replenish our finances. He is the one who we depend upon. He will replenish our finances in such a way that we will see it. I am looking forward to it. It will be such a blessing to us. A blessing that we can eventually pass onto my stepdaughter, and her life. That if we depend upon Him even in the hardest of all times. He will replenish and provide plenty for us when the desert has come through.

The next word is Trust:

Proverbs 3.5-6 (NIV)

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

We have had to trust God with such a deeper understanding, that he will provide in ways that it is Him. It has been difficult I will admit. Yet clinging to my faith through it all. Clinging to what God has planned even though we may not know the big picture but knowing that God knows it is a  blessing. He knows our needs, wants and desires.

This brings me to what God was showing me last year:

Genesis 50.20-21 (NIV)

You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives. 21 So then, don’t be afraid. I will provide for you and your children.” And he reassured them and spoke kindly to them.

Satan intended to harm me with me loosing my job, but God still has better plans for us. Plans to accomplish His will and what he has for us to do. He will do whatever it is for His glory and honor, and that we glorify him.

What is one thing that God has done for you in your walk last year?

What word is he bringing to mind during your quiet time?

Who and what does he want you to do?

Hoping to connect with these blogs:

Proverbs 31 Wife, Inspire Me Monday. the modest mom, beauty in the mess, A Holy Experience, Tell U A Story, Mama’s Moments

Leave a Reply

