Modesty And Survivors Part 1

As I write this, it saddens me that there are families who do not care one lick of how their families are dressed. Some do chose inappropriate clothing while other are very conservative. 

I however grew up in a conservative Christian school where everything was monitored down to our clothes. We were a Christian school that had to be an example to our community. We had to have knee length skirts when wearing them. If they were higher you were written up. Yes it had happened to me, only I didn’t know I had grown a few inches til I couldn’t wear the dress anymore. It was cute, and modest, but however it was too short. 

I look around and see many things wrong. I don’t feel comfortable wearing many things. ModestyI am particular about what I want to wear, and how it looks on me. 

I want to be covered appropriately, but never have eyes drawn to me in the wrong way. I want to be an example to my girl who learns from parents and stepparents. 

1 Timothy

New Living Translation (NLT)

9 And I want women to be modest in their appearance. They should wear decent and appropriate clothing and not draw attention to themselves by the way they fix their hair or by wearing gold or pearls or expensive clothes.

Timothy was very right about how we woman should be dressed, but unfortunately society doesn’t see it this way. Many cringe at the word Modesty, like the plague. I see it as a blessing. I see it as God-Honoring. I see God in what He wants the Women who are Christians display in front of everyone.

Society at one point in time was very very modest, but as the time progressed it slowly began to open up to the world. A world that showed it was okay. Yet it wasn’t.

There are times such as a disaster that modesty should never be an excuse for anyone. Yes you may struggle with finding clothes, but never cross your line. Crossing your line is not good at all. It shows how relaxed you have become but it also shows what your family values.

Modesty is defined as the Following:

mod·es·ty  audio  (md-st) KEY 

NOUN:

The state or quality of being modest.
Reserve or propriety in speech, dress, or behavior.
Lack of pretentiousness; simplicity.

What a unique way to define a term. Yet we overlook it so many ways. We overlook it because of the quality. We overlook it because of the dress, speech or perhaps behavior or perhaps it is the simplicity of it.
Please whatever it is, please put that aside, and allow God to help you in many different things.
Linking with The Following Blogs:

Related articles