Grace and Survivors

Grace is something that never escapes some lips of people. Grace is something that is given to us by God. His grace after he sent his son to die on the cross. Grace given to a survivor is such a blessing. A survivor needs grace for many reasons.

1. They have more stresses to deal with.
2. They have nothing or very little.
3. Temporary homes are just temporary.
4. Children need grace while dealing with their new life.
5. Life has changed drastically for the survivors.

Yet on the other thing:
1. Jesus is the same today yesterday and forever.
2. God is a consuming fire.
3. God is full of grace and mercy.
4. When brought through trials — it is to grow and mature us.
5. Faith has deepened in the harder times.

As the time between the disaster lengthen it seems that people forget to give survivors grace. They forget that it is affecting them and their family. Nothing is the survivors fault. Nothing. They are growing in their faith,faith that sustains them. Faith to keep moving when nothing else moves them. 

Many times it seems that it is impossible to go from one place to another. From one temp home to another temp home. These places may be hard but it is the growth in our faith. He matures us as we move in our faith. Growth in our faith is detrimental to the Christian walk. So detrimental that he wants to grow us. The Tornado may have taken the house (which is nothing but cinder and wood) but he hasn’t taken your family. He places these hard times to grow us. My family has grown numerically as well as in our faith. God provided for each step to take.

English: The Irish folk tune Slane.

English: The Irish folk tune Slane. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I may not have all my earthly belongings but I have a Saviour who loves me for who I am. The Tornadoes can take my earthly stuff, but they cannot take my Saviour from me.

Be Thou My Vision:

Irish folk Melody

v. 4 

Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise;

Thou mine inheritance, now and always:

Thou and Thou only first in my heart, 

High King of Heaven , My treasure thou Art. 

v. 5

High King of Heaven, after victory won,

May I reach heaven’s joys, O bright heaven’s Sun!

Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,

Still Be my vision, O Ruler of All. 

Be Thou My Vision is one of my favourite hymns. Not because of it minor key or anything like that, but because it talks of our Saviour and how victory is won through Him, and no one else. He Is the one true king.  The King who is the one. He is the one who has won my victory. He fights for me. I don’t have to fight. He has won the victory. Already. Ya Hear? Won.

So instead of bagging on the survivors. Allow them to sort through their feelings of grief. Pray that they understand and know that their victory has been won. Completely. They will be able to tell of stories of unbelievable nature.

rubietuesdaysthumb

250-Titus-2-Tuesday-Button

Jasminesdomesticallydivinebuttongood

TuesdaysButton

TeachMeTuesdaysButton

2 responses to “Grace and Survivors

  1. Pingback: Rebuilding of Survivors | thehopejourneythroughChrist·

  2. Pingback: Town’s Spirit | thehopejourneythroughChrist·

Comments are closed.