Homemade Items

Homemade items sent in to disaster zones are cherished to the survivors who get them. After the tornado, I had a customer who was with the Joplin Quilter Guild knew I qualified for a quilt and wanted to get me one as soon as she could.

Hebrews 11

Hebrews 11

This quilt was one of two I got to chose from. It was blue and it was my favourite color. I loved how it looked in the temporary home fixated in the blue background of the home we were staying in. The wrought Iron bed also a donation made this the perfect match for it all.

Many survivors need many items, one thing to do is to send homemade items to Moore OK, El Reno OK, and the other surrounding cities that were hit by the tornadoes the last 2 weeks. The people may not remember who gave them the Homemade items but it will be cherished by them for quite sometime.

The quilt was used in this same room after I married until mom told me to take it with me before they moved to one last temporary place.

While out salvaging admist the storms in Joplin, I went into what was my bedroom and found 2 precious articles that were handmade for me.

The first one was a knitted quilt in cream that my Grandma Boyd had made for me when I was eight or nine. Yes, It was a handmade birthday gift, and it would have hurt me to not have it today. It has meant alot to me over the past years. It has been with me since my childhood.  It represents a child coming into adulthood.

The second one was a prayer shawl crocheted/knitted for me by a special person to me in Bible Study Fellowship. She made it with love, song, and prayers over me so I could have the presence of God when I needed it.

Mark cleaned these two items for me and had them ready on a day, and brought them to me on Wednesday – I hadn’t seen him since Sunday. They were something I needed something comforting.  It was that night I started to sleep with the prayer shawl. Yes as an adult it was comforting because it was what I knew. Yet God’s Word had been spoken over them.

As you give your homemade brand new items. Praying over them, and knowing that they will bless others in return.

Also in our Christian walk, He wants us to be made new. A New Creation, Denying oneself to live. We are his, and he is mine.

2 Corinthians 5:17

New International Version (NIV)

17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!

Another one is:

Matthew 16:24-25

New International Version (NIV)

24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. 25 For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it.

The tornadoes are adding character to those who have gone through them just as your quilts, pillowcases, and anything you have made. Each has character. Certain types of character. Yet we also need to be more like Jesus when we donate, and how we donate.

Prayer Shawl

I apologize because the lighting isn’t the best of the best.

Cream Quilt

How do you cherish the things of God?

How are you cherishing family memories?

What will you do in time of disaster to cherish some of the crazy/funny things that happen?

How will you prepare your children?

What homemade items mean a whole bunch to you?

The Alabaster Jar - Marital Oneness MondaysThe MOM Intitative

Monday Mingle FPL

Better Mom - Linking Up

Inspire Me Mondays

The Koala Bear Writer

Multitude Mondays

