Temporary Homes

Hebrews 11

Hebrews 11

 

This is my room in the temporary home after the Joplin tornado. Yes it is large, but for the 7 months I was there, I needed it.

Many may not realize that after we lose the home we have lived for so long that it is hard to adjust to a new temporary home. After the tornado I had 4 address (and it was crazy believe me). Sometimes I could keep track of the addresses other times might as well forget about it.

Our temporary home was in Carthage Missouri in a unique home. In fact the bedrooms all came with our own bathroom (house I grew up in had only 2) so that was a change.  It was also the beginning of a new routine for all of us. A routine that changed my life forever. Let me say this, I do not enjoy change whatsoever at all. This made me change so much, that there are days that I struggle with it.

Temporary homes are good for us all but also everyone struggles. We don’t have all the things we love. Our own beds, pillows, blankets etc… Yet this is what happens when a disaster strikes and we have to change.

This is also true for the Christian walk. We as Christians are not of this world, in fact we are of a different world. Our citizenship is in heaven not here.

Hebrews 11 by Paul writes of this very well. We are not of this world, we are to be different than others and lead a totally different life than those who are of this world. We are to shine the light to Christ, and to lead others to him.

  11  Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

10 For he was looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and builder is God.

13 All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance, admitting that they were foreigners and strangers on earth.

14 People who say such things show that they are looking for a country of their own. 

15 If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return.

 16 Instead, they were longing for a better country—a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them.

As the Survivors slowly find a new place to stay in OKC, and Moore, they will need many things to start over with, such as the following:

Beds

nightstands

Blankets

Kids Beds

Twin Beds

Mattresses

couches

Chairs (Living Rm, Kitchen, Dining)

Dining rm table

TV’s

Radios

Pictures

Bibles

Towels

Washcloths

Lamps

Nightlights

Few books

Books on recovery from a Tough place

These 3 books I received after my experience with the Joplin Tornado. Grief, Encouragement through the Hard times, and the question Why How God?

These 3 books I received after my experience with the Joplin Tornado. Grief, Encouragement through the Hard times, and the question Why How God?

Titus TuesdayTeach ME Tuesdays f7ba5033-6d01-4110-939d-4c5148de0a74_thumb_BR_21

Jasminesdomesticallydivinebuttongood

Call Me blessed

Embracing the Ordinary

To Blessed to Be Stressed

Tending Home Tuesdays

Rubie Tuesdays

