Instant Family….

@ alligator Ally in Daphne, AL

@ alligator Ally in Daphne, AL

Some wonder how and why I have been able to be happy admist dire circumstances, but yet I can tell you the gifts the blessings have been one of the best received. My husband has been such a blessing. We have been a partner in the faith, love like I could have ever imagined. He has been beside me in such a unique way.
We were seeing each other when the tornado struck Joplin that night. He asked me out in such a manner I never will forget and I am thankful for when he did. Thankful that God saw to my protection admist such circumstances. Most disasters have driven marriages apart but it drove us closer. He was beside me from the list making for insurance purposes (a list extremely long…not a list I wish to do again either) to his proposal on my childhood lot.
The best part of this is that I have a stepdaughter who I love so much and am so very thankful for. Thankful God gave me an opportunity to be a Godly influence on. It is such an honor for me to be a stepparent. Yes there are moments in our household where we do not get along or there is a misunnderstanding.
I am very thankful for the blessing of being a stepparent, because I honestly had no interest in having a child of my own because the desire for marriage was far deeper than a desire for a child. Yet on the other hand, God blessed me with a stepdaughter, a suprise that is such a blessing for me.
Yet I would love for us to look into this interview with Tricia Goyer and Phil Hodges on being a stepparent to an upcoming teen.

Here it is for the Q&A with Tricia Goyer and Phil Hodges about becoming a Stepmom to an almost Teenage Stepdaughter:

Dear Weary Mom Link-Up | Thursdays at www.hopeforthewearymom.com

3 responses to “Instant Family….

  1. Wow, sounds like a great story. God works in marvelous ways! I’m a big Tricia Goyer fan too – she has some great books and is always encouraging. Thanks for linking up with the Write Mama blog hop. 🙂

    • You are welcome, the stories are told from the 2 years since the tornado, it has been a long recovery but I love what God has given me! Welcome for linking up, but no other way to get the word out and See how God can use a blog to help others who have gone through the exact same thing too

  2. I have heard that a crisis presses out of us what is truly inside of us – something like a tea bag in hot water. It sounds like when the “World Pressed In” what came out was hope and beauty — even on the tough days.

    Your story is one of hope. Thank you for sharing it and encouraging others.

Leave a Reply

